Boys’ Basketball Report and Prize List 2022

Boys’ Basketball once again wrapped up the season in the playoffs for top spot.

Tena Koutou,

Boys’ Basketball once again wrapped up the season in the playoffs for top spot. We wish to thank our whanau, the community, our parents who kept showing up to support us and drive us through to Dunedin, Pam Hannah, Sports Coordinator, and Craig Gordon from Clutha Rec for his support, as well. 

With four teams and nearly 50 boys, we had a good turn out for our Dunedin Competition, South Otago Competition, Dunedin Co-Ed competition and Gore High School Mini Tournament. Thank you to Mrs Hannah for helping to arrange these for us. 

We wish to also recognise Rebecca Moon, Basketball Otago, for her support and for her time spent tutoring our boys in Basketball refereeing. Gratitude to Mr Williams who joined us in Term Two to coach and Trey Willis-Croft, our Head Coach who started working with all of the boys in Term One. 

This year, we forgo our Boys Basketball Prizegiving Night and Break up. However, our trophies for special prizes are complete thanks to Mr Simpson. The awards have been handed to most students at a shared lunch Prizegiving ceremony yesterday. 

The following are a combination of awards for outstanding results for mahi in the game, stacked statistics, mahi done in the service of SOHS Basketball, Coach stats and player votes. 

Boys’ Basketball 2022 Recognition for stand out players, Prizegiving:

Juniors Tautuku Dolphins and Poupoutunoa Falcons:

Best Junior Rookie                  Year 9    Daniel Witt; Hakopa Saimoni

                                                              Year 10  Levi Te Moananui Currie

Junior Most Improved: Falcons Henry Villar; Dolphins Johnston Phillips

Most Promising Player Juniors: Year 9 Lamont Tourell; Year 10 Konnar Melvin

Most Valuable Junior: Poupoutunoa Falcons Finn Gilder/Jack Bloxham; Tautuku Dolphins Ulysses Cu

Ms H Best Defensive player Poupoutunoa Falcons Hunter Thomson;  Tautuku Dolphins Jamin Bokilis

Best All Rounder Junior Peoples’ Choice Luka May

Seniors Mata Au Te Awa and Iwi Katea Te Ra

Best Senior Rookie: Iwi Katea Nathan Peoples;   Mata Au Wyatt Shanks

Most improved Senior Will Clark; Luis Smales

Most Valuable Senior: Iwi Katea William Maze/Ashton Navarosa;  Mata Au Will Clark

Most Promising Player Senior: Iwi Katea Kingston Davis;   Mata Au Chase Te Moananui Currie

Best All Rounder Senior Peoples’ Choice:  Ashton Navarosa

Trey Willis-Croft Top Defensive Player: Jack Newport

Trey Willis-Croft MVP: William Maze

Ben Williams Top Defensive Player: Kairus Booth

Ben Williams Most Improved: Blake Evans

Ms H   Recognition Award; Player of the Year Senior Kingston Davis; Junior Ulysses Cu

Ms H Recognition Award Top Referee Geordie Bennett

Ms H Recognition Service to Basketball AR Jomhel Gonzales, JC Ashton Navarosa, JC Jack Newport, JC William Maze, JC Ethan Hale, Head Coach and Iwi Katea Coach Trey Willis Croft, Mata Au Te Awa Coach Ben Williams

Boys’ Recognition Award for services to Boys Basketball: Kay Wood, Shelley Gilder, Peter Bloxham, Natalie Clark, Carmen Jillett

Nga mihi nui, waimarie ki a koutou katoa.